Mice Naps

By kimsim

"Before Elvis there was nothing."

Elvis Aaron Presley
8th January 1935 ~ 16th August 1977

Today marks 35 years since the death of Elvis Presley; aged only 42 when he died at home following a heart attack.

He died three years before I was born so I have only ever known the icon that is Elvis.

The imagery, the music, the legend.

I was lucky enough to visit Graceland at the end of May. It is a stunning, modest home. By the end of the tour I understood an Elvis beyond the icon; a family man, a philanthropist, a great friend to those who knew him. A man who died tragically young leaving everything he held dear behind.

A beautiful man with a beautiful voice. A man so unique, so sexy, so talented. A man whose extraordinary impact on popular culture started right from the moment he walked through the door to Sun Records.

If you agree with John Lennon, we have a lot to thank Elvis for.

Today I have been trying to decide what my favourite Elvis song is...

...maybe this... or this... or this... maybe this... so many to choose from!


What's yours?

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.