Northern Exposure

By Northern

All wrapped up

Thankfully the power was back on this morning but it was still necessary to hit the town today and finish off the xmas shopping.

Shopping is not one of my favourite things but...

I got everything I needed to.
I did so without panic or irritation.
I had the pleasure of a cheery festive chat with shop assistants and other folk I bumped into.
The sound of the Salvation Army Brass Band playing christmas carols filtered throughout the surrounding shops.
I paused for a cappuccino and a mince pie.
I didn't spend ridiculous amounts of money.
I now have everything waiting to be wrapped.

Unlike the so called stress free shopping on the internet. Took me 3 hours the other night to NOT buy a pair of gloves. I wandered irritatedly through website after website to find a pair in the size I needed and style I liked at a price I could afford only to find once I reached the last gasp of the purchasing process to find that they don't deliver to our location!!!! Come off it... I know they were extra large gloves but somehow I think even those would be able to go through as regular parcel post.

I DO NOT LIVE ON THE MOON!!!!!

If anyone ever needs to send something to the Northern Isles (and I assume other so called remote areas of the UK) please remember this, the best bet to get something to its destination quickly and safely is the ROYAL MAIL. Couriers stumble at things like mountains and seas.

Thankfully a certain well known internet based store is well aware of that so all we need to do now is sit and wait for our Postie to turn up with the few remaining pressies to be wrapped.

Either that or it's up to the other guy in the red suit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.