Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Common Darter

Although a number of species Dragonflies have been visiting my pond, generally they arrive either in inconvenient moments or when the dogs are about to disturb them. This morning I found myself camera in hand, and dogs motionless with their bellies up to the sunshine, when this one landed.

It's an immature male Common Darter, Sympetrum striolatum. I know it saw me from it's perch on the Lustrife and, incredibly, decided the safest place to be was camouflaged on the stems of the overgrown Nemisia, in a pot I was watering, less than a foot from me. A photographers gift. As I fired the shots, it turned it's head as if to say, is this my best side.

It's amazing how we see species in diverse light. Yesterdays spider may have looked large and gruesome but it can go relatively long periods without food. The Dragonflies, although so much more beautiful to look at, are ferocious hunters, not only as the winged adults but as larvae which eat anything they can grab hold of in the waters they inhabit. If one were to compare the species habits as opposed to their looks, I think the peoples choice would be the Spider, hands down. Not that I expect anyone to change their opinions about Spiders!

Very early blip as I'm heading up to London. My sister, Mamafi, is down from Scotland and with the family we will first go and have a bite to eat, then head for the Vic to see Billy Elliot. It's not often you can pull me into the Big Smoke but this will be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.