photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 319 of 366 - Church of St John the Baptist!

The image for today was taken this afternoon in the village of Berkswell. It is a view of the Grade I listed Parish Church of St John the Baptist. This Church is of Norman design being built in the 12th Century. There is actually evidence of an even earlier Saxon church on this site, as part of the crypt beneath the church dates back to the 8th century. Also in view in the centre of the image is a wayside preaching cross. The cross itself was restored about 30 years ago, however the stone steps are said to date back to Saxon times and predate the church. The preaching cross is a scheduled ancient monument.

The photo was taken using the app ExposerGL on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the photo. I Cropped and Straightened the image and applied the Tonal Contrast filter. I then boosted the Contrast, Saturation and Shadows, as well as decreasing the Highlights and Ambiance. I finally used the Healing feature to delete the telephone wire from above the Church. Next I used the app Mextures to apply the formula called Desolation by Minja Tuomenoksa. I then used DistressedFX to add the Egret overlay and the Lade texture. Finally I used PhotoToaster to add the Recover Highlights preset, the Stark FX and a Medium Dark Vignette. I then applied the Old Paper texture and the Parchment frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.