photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 320 of 366 - Cook Street Town Wall Gate!

The image for today was taken in the City Centre of Coventry. The view is of the historic Cook Street Gate. This Grade I listed structure was originally part of the Medieval Town wall of Coventry and was built during the 14th century. This gatehouse was one of twelve forming part of the surrounding wall. Most of the town wall and gates were demolished in 1662 on the orders of King Charles II. This was a punishment for Coventry siding with the Parliamentarians during the English Civil war. This Gate along with the nearby Swanswell (or Priory) Gate are the only two that have survived out of the original twelve gates to the city. It is thought that upon it's completion Coventry had the strongest city wall (except for London) in England. The Gatehouse also a scheduled ancient monument.

The photo was taken using the app ProCamera on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the photo. I Cropped and Straightened the image and applied the Tonal Contrast filter. I then boosted the Contrast, Saturation and Ambiance, as well as decreasing the Highlights and Shadows. I finally used the Healing feature to delete the double yellow (no parking) lines from the road leading to the gate. Next I used the app Waterlogue to apply the Travelogue watercolour effect. Finally I used PhotoToaster to add the Tone preset, the Vibrant FX and a Medium Dark Vignette. I then applied the Stucco texture and the Leather frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.