Big Hill

By bighill

Time to put this baby away....

Woke up to our first snow fall of the year.....and it does look pretty!

I think this might be the longest i've gone without blipping in my 8 years here!   It's been a difficult few weeks.....the pain in my right knee continued to worsen so much so i ended up going to see another dr., who sent me for an xray!   The results are in....degenerative cartilage - in other words osteoarthritis!   Apparently the only long term solution is knee replacement!   This has of course totally freaked me out....and along with the discomfort of having to hobble about, even used a cane for a while....plus not sleeping well, my blip mojo has been totally gone!

I'm off  today to have a steroid injection in my knee...this will apparently mask the pain until we can get me on the waiting list!!!   Terry has offered to come with me...i'm a total wimp when it comes to anything like this!  

I have had a couple of days rest, after a 3 day show i did up in Sydney, see the only back blip i have, and it was a lovely show.  Exhausting in the extreme....but good sales and wonderful visits with other vendors.   The venue was spectacular....an old church that has been turned into a museum.   Thick stone walls painted white, exposed beams and just the most beautiful atmosphere.   Most of the customers commented on how intimate the show felt.  And it was, only 20 of us.   I only toke a couple of images on the last day!

The other thing this disability has caused me to pay attention to is just how much unconscious judgements i have lurking beneath the surface!!!  wow, i somehow don't want to be included in the 'weak' and 'elderly' group of human beings!!!  It has been quite an eye opener....all this to say that i need to be kinder to myself and not berate myself for having let this happen!    Also, i need to clean up my judgements around people with limps, canes and other physical ailments!!  This is not to say that i'm not empathetic with folks with physical problems, i am...but i also seem to harbor thoughts that they should be stronger (ie i should be stronger!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.