JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Admiral Nelson outside Selfridges

Once again my search for a daily blip has opened my eyes to something I have often looked at but never seen.

I stopped in Birmingham city centre for an eye test on my way home from work, and decided to use the nearby Selfridges building in the Bull Ring development as the subject for today's blip. Opened in 2003, the building has become a celebrated Birmingham landmark.

It is certainly striking enough to be a good subject in its own right, but as I stood there looking for a good view for my image I saw this bronze statue of Horatio Nelson which I had never noticed on the many occasions I have been here in the past.

It was the first statue of Nelson erected in Britain, dating from 1809, and was funded by the people of Birmingham following Nelson's visit to the town on 31 August 1802. Its original location was close to where it now stands, but it was moved in 1961 during the construction of the first (ghastly) Bull Ring development, and its original plinth was lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.