Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Star Spangled.

Go large for a better effect!

Back to work today after 2 mostly relaxing and enjoyable weeks. Then a mad rush after arriving home as a delivery of Tom's feeds and hay was due at 5.30. Normal service is resumed :((
It occured to me today that once the freezing cold winter with no proper heating was out the way, I've actually had a really good year so far - long weekends away, getting to some good gigs, a 3 day music festival, the Olympics, Rutland Bird Fair (and finally meeting Emy there), a great time in Thetford Forest on a meet with NelltheHare and family, an afternoon at Howe Hill at last. It's the first time for about the last 4 years that I can say I've really enjoyed the year so far . I had a docs appointment last Friday and even he said how well he thought I looked - and that's despite my sleep problems! I'm hoping and praying my run of good times continues unabated .....

I've also realised how much I'm now going to miss mooching around amongst the thistle patches in the paddock, browsing for blip subjects at my leisure! I took a walk to the top corner tonight once I'd finished sorting Tom's feeds etc, as there was still some sun. But it was too late for much to be about. I also had a look at the bramble bush on which there was virtually nothing .... but I did find a male Scorpion fly there. Trouble is he was lightly caught up on a spider web and struggling far too much to get a shot. So I took a small broken stem off the floor and dislodged him. He flew off quickly - at least today he didn't try to headbutt me! lol. But my saving grace was these seedheads from the thistle patch, caught on a web and glistening from the sun going down behind. They reminded me of stars. So they're my blip today.

Last night for the second time in just a few nights, with the door open into the garden, I became invaded by baby frogs (very small ones). At one point last night I had 5 of them in one go to catch and put outside - 2 in the living room, 2 in the kitchen and 1 in the hallway! And there was also this pretty orange spotted toad paid me a visit.


On saturday night I mentioned the beautiful mackerel skies on the way back from Bird Fair, and said I'd put a link to a slideshow of shots on Sunday's blip - but I forgot. So here they are at last.

A music link: the irreplaceable, brilliant JIMI paying tribute to his country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.