Waianakarua River

Today was the teachers last official day at work.  We had an end of year morning tea at 10, which included presentations and secret santa presents and by 12 the day was done.  Although I'll be a work all of next week it seemed like a good idea to leave early today myself.

Once I got home it felt a bit odd - knowing it was sort of still a work day.  So on the spur of the moment I grabbed a change of clothes and started up the camper van.  I chose south as I pulled out of the drive - with genuinely no plans about where I was headed.  Driving past Waimate turnoff I considered heading up to my favourite spot at Benmore but decided not to seeing I'll be up there for a few days at Christmas.

I stopped in Oamaru for cheese - oh divine Whitestone's Lindis Pass brie, running ripe!

I considered staying there but decided to drive a little further.  By the time I got to Herbert I'd had enough of the traffic so I pulled off into the camping area on the Waianakarua River.  A beautiful spot.

I stuffed up tonight.  I thought the camera club dinner, and our work dinner, were both last night - so I didn't get a ticket for the camera club dinner.  Rainie has just texted me to say that one of my photos won gold in one of the sections, so it's a pity not to be there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.