serpent

By serpentine

Maharaja's Derelict Palace

my entry for this week's DS challenge - with thanks to evolybab.  I took a 5 hour walk/stroll around the Bharatpur fort today.  It is huge, with a moat around and two bridges which allow traffic through the fort.  The archway gates are studded with giant spikes which would stop an elephant from battering them down.  This palace is within the fort grounds - built in the mid C18 - there were a couple of galleries open on the ground floor with rather hideous moulded, historical pictures and busts of previous Maharajas, all with fabulous moustaches. There was only one I really fancied! Amongst other things I saw a pony being shod, quilt making, door frame making, washermen and women slapping sheets on the ghats of the moat (the water did not look inviting) and I was invited into a house where seated on the charpoy (string bed) were musicians - father playing the harmonium, his son the tabla and his daughter singing.  I think I got a little video but it was so dark and their hands were moving so quickly.  Lots of people invited me to take their picture - all so happy to see it afterwards. A guard refused to open the gate  to the museum grounds as it was being renovated which was a shame.  But some Indian boys came up and jeered him into opening it a crack so that I could take a photo - he wasn't very happy I'm afraid.
There were lots of rather lovely old shops with verandahs on the first floor and  I was ushered into an 175 year old haveli (house built round a courtyard) by a grey haired man who said his 'forebears' built it.  I'll get around to posting extras and come back and give a link. When you find the pics, scroll to the botttom of the page of photos and work upwards - link on this page

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.