Melrose Abbey

On the road again (after a wonderful breakfast of Tapa and sticky rice thanks to A) we ventured south to the Abbey's of Merose and Kelso.

Once again I decided upon a detail shot rather than the external view. Although I was happier with those than Linlithgow I still felt they were a little flat. I was going through a little dip in blip mojo. I do love this treatment though. It's the same as I used for the Dwarfie Stane earlier in the holiday and I think gives a great antiqued look. Christine's lovely shot through the arches gives a more realistic view of the wonderful colours and textures of the Abbey.

The remains of Kelso Abbey are not as impressive but just as beautiful. The nearby memorial cloister is also worth a visit.

From Kelso, we made our way to Yarrowford (no, I'd never heard of it either - the other side of Selkirk) and to the original youth hostel at Broadmeadow, opened in 1931. Talk about out of the way. Climbing a dirt track road with ferns rubbing down the side of the car, you might have thought you'd taken a wrong turn on more than one occasion. But reach the hostel we did and it was a welcome sight. Crispy chicken wings and sticky rice later followed by a wee trek to try and catch the sunset (which unfortunately ended up more a low light exercise) before bed.

I suspect this might be my last back blip of the night. I'll try to return later but I still have to shoot today's! Eeeek!!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.