secret garden

By freespiral

Kitchen Cove; 11.43. 17.12.16

All calm down at the Cove this morning and a very low tide. I ventured down to the the water's edge and the wellies got stuck in thick oozing mud. Lots of birdlife - some very noisy herring gulls, a solitary startling white egret, another smaller wading bird, some oyster catchers  and alone heron. No humans.  The extra is still in the Cove but because it was such a low tide I managed to walk out to areas not normally accessible and the reflections in the water were rather fine.

Friends coming for lunch tomorrow so I got everything ready today. I made a ton of pastry and two lots of mince pies (sons also arriving shortly). All going well until I went to get the second lot of mince pies out of the oven, was not sensible and didn't use the oven glove just a T towel, burnt my fingers and dropped the lot. You might have heard the shriek  followed by the ripe Anglo-saxon from where you are. Worst of all, once the mincemeat hit colder surfaces (and it hit a lot of them) it set hard and sticky. I have had to wash everything down, including the floor.

And thanks for all the nice comments re Pa. I'm enjoying thinking about him and reappreciating him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.