German Wasp

This wasp is just one of an ever increasing number of the pests in my neighbourhood. I squash as many as I can. The German wasp, Vespula germanica, and the common wasp, Vespula vulgaris, are major pests in New Zealand. We have the highest densities of them in the world. They are a real threat to our native birds, bats, lizards and insects by consuming their food and by direct attack, not to mention the harm they inflict on people. They have changed the nature of our forest ecosystems and cost NZ about $130,000,000 a year.

This summer a concerted effort to eradicate them will be carried out in the Nelson National Parks region. I can’t wait for it to be our turn to get rid of them.

Poppy of the day in extra shot. Most of the poppies have been damaged by gusty winds, but I found the odd few in sheltered places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.