wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

And the snow fell!

Our first wicked snowfall in a bit. Interior Maine got about 2 feet. We are on the coast and got about 8 inches.its heavy stuff.

Now I'm not a gloating person. However if I was.....
When we were going through the land dispute thing with my neighbor, he got custody of almost all of the pine trees. Two small ones are directly on the property line so I left them on his side of the fence. There are two huge pine trees that he actually has custody of. He tried digging one up by the roots last year. The height was estimated at 45 feet.
They have tremendous damage. I feel sad for the trees however, the damage is to the branches not the trunk. Probably culling the herd as they say.
The snow created a winter wonderland. The cool sound of snow after a fall is my favorite sound. Everything is muffled and silent. Crisp air smelling of pine and cold enters my nose.......and then the plow comes. The snowplow is an evil creature that plows your driveway leaving a berm that you have to shovel. Although they do clear the roads.
I have some friends that have lost power and some were told it may be days. The chance is not over yet as the trees are loaded.
This is Spring Point Ledge lighthouse. I stood at the end of the causeway and was approached by a man with a camera wearing sneakers. The snow was about 8 inches deep and in front of the stairs had about 5 inches of water standing there. So this man says; " hey you think I can walk out there to the light house?"
I said;" not unless you want to make the 6 o'clock news. You are from away aren't you?" They were from Orlando Florida. The wife was shocked that they couldn't walk to the lighthouse and go inside. I felt like one of those people in a Maine cartoon watching a tourist make a bad decision. The husband talked her out of it. What are they thinking you can just walk up to a light house and there would be someone to let them in. They actually thought there was no one there but they could just go in. To me the black ice was a deterrent. I tried to explain that. In the end , it was the fact that they couldn't walk in and just move the light around and stuff. The son thought that would be cool. Not to mention the wind and the huge chance of falling off those rocks.
I am always amazed at what people think. That's like walking up to a moose in the fall and taking his picture. Yeah that's a really bad idea. Can you say rutting season?
Anyway it's beautiful outside and tomorrow we will be at the Brunswick Farmers market.
I can't wait!
Until then G'day down under and goodnight to the north!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.