Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Purple Heart Wood Blank.

     Having selected the wood I wanted for the Skeleton Clock project, I thought I would do a quick blip on the Purple Heart wood I will be mounting the clock into to show you the actual colour of it. This is by no means the finished surface.
     I have now turned the blank down to almost the depth of the clock. I allow a little leeway for sanding and any unforeseen problems.  This is an extremely hard wood and it blunts the turning tools very quickly, so I have been forever sharpening them whilst doing this. Takes time but sure is worth it.
     Tomorrow, I will be marking out the position of the clock on the blank and then  proceed to drill out the wood which will be taken up by the clock.
     I will blip that procedure with some extras so it gives you an idea on how I achieve this.

     Hope you are all well and are keeping warm in this frosty weather.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.