Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

A Day in the W/shop. Skeleton Clock Project.

     As you can see I have now drilled out the centre piece by using Forstner bits ( These are mainly used for making blind holes) But I use them also to drill right through.
     You will see in the extra (1) that there is a piece of wood underneath the piece I am drilling. This prevents 'break out' - tearing the wood as it drills through so one achieves a clean drill through. The other extra is it actually cutting showing all the swarfe created.
The depth of the Purple Heart blank is 1.5" thick.
     Now that the bulk of the wood from the centre has been removed, I will now cut off the excess inside the purple heart ring, sand it down to a smooth surface and then I will be able to slot the clock into it making a nice surround for it.
Further blips will be forthcoming as the project takes shape.

Hope you are all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.