MY SATURDAY STRUGGLE!

I am confused and struggling!  Although I can still type at about 120 wpm and possibly still write shorthand at about 60 wpm, I cannot get into my head the homework in the book “A Year With My Camera” about apertures.

As it says in the book, “You just have to remember that the large hole = the smallest number, and the small hole = the largest number.  No easy way round that.”

I could give up now and just do what I have always done - twiddle the knobs and wheels on my camera and hope that I get a good result - but that would be the easy way out - and I really do want to understand WHY I am doing things.

For someone who normally picks things up very easily, I am finding it quite hard - and as our sons used to say “It’s doing my head in” - but I’m sure that before too long, I will get it - and hopefully Mr. HCB will be able to say along with with Professor Higgins in “My Fair Lady”, “By jove, I think she’s got it!”

My photograph today is part of the homework - this beautiful gerbera was in a bouquet I was given by some friends on Thursday.  Both photographs i.e. the actual Blip and the one put in as an extra, were taken in the garden and have not been manipulated in any way, except to write on the size of the aperture - so hopefully, it will work its way into my head.

Until then, I will go back to the book and keep writing down what I need to learn.  I wonder if I’m the only one or are others struggling too?

"You can learn new things 
     at any time in your life 
          if you're willing to be a beginner. 
If you actually learn to like 
     being a beginner, 
          the whole world opens up to you."
Barbara Sher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.