BY JOVE, I THINK I'VE GOT IT!

I think it’s fair to say I was rather prickly yesterday trying to work out f numbers and apertures etc etc - but I was completely blown away by how helpful everyone was so thank you for all your kind suggestions.  

It was good to know that I wasn’t the only one struggling either and I will now be working my way through the book with another Blipper, so we can bounce ideas and thoughts off each other.  

I got to church this morning only to find that I was confused again as I didn’t know one of the songs and had to really get my brain into gear once more to make sure I sang the right notes - and in the right order too. But perhaps I needed to understand, and perhaps this was God’s way of teaching me, that if I put my mind to something I can do it although it may take time to learn.

After a good service at church we went out as usual and I was looking for some dereliction, but Mr. HCB had other ideas - he wanted me to put into practice what I had learned yesterday about apertures and f numbers.

This photograph of barbed wire (to signify yesterday’s prickliness) was on a gate leading into a field with a haystack just inside the field.  Because of all the helpful advice yesterday I was chanting to myself “LOW number equals LITTLE depth of field” and I think I have achieved this.  Once again, this photograph hasn’t been touched up or manipulated in anyway and I rather like it.  Perhaps I should print it out and put it up in a prominent position to remind me not to be so prickly at times!  And bless him, when I got back into the car, Mr. HCB asked me “What does a low number equal?”  He is a star!

I found this quote yesterday and it just about sums up about getting too uptight about learning something new - and especially what I was learning yesterday.

“What use is having a great depth of field,
     if there is not an adequate
          depth of feeling?”

Eugene Smith 1918-1978

P.S.  I am even on my way to doing my 12pics in one day - the homework for A Year With My Camera because it doesn't have to be done on a Saturday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.