Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Titmice rule!

As you know, I love my backyard Tufted Titimice, so it's no surprise that one of the birds high on my wish list during this trip was Arizona's Bridled Titmouse.  When we set off this morning for Madera Canyon, south of Tucson, I was pretty sure I'd finally get to meet one of these adorable birds in person.  And I did!  And, as with all titmice, they are ridiculously hard to photograph because they are flitter than butterflies.  But, perseverance paid off, and in spite of an afternoon downpour, I got my shot.  Isn't he,she adorable?

We met Laurie54 at a favorite coffe spot of hers for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed chatting over quiche and coffe/tea.  Always such fun to meet a fellow blipper.  I will put a photo of the two of us (taken by my dad) in Extra.

The weather in Madera Canyon this morning was cold and windy (temps in the 40's F with gusts to 35 mph).  When we returned after lunch, the wind had stopped but the rain started.  Still, I managed to see and photograph 10 new life-birds.  Very fun.  Highlights for me were Montezuma Quail, Hepatic Tanager, Acorn and Arizona woodpeckers and Mexican Jays.  One shot of an Acorn WP and a Mexican Jay in Extra

Thank you so much for sending my ferruginous Hawk to the front page of Popula.  And forgive my lack of comments this week.

Xo
Debbi

PS:  Album of birds from AZ posted HERE on Flick

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.