wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Women's march

Saturday came and we marched.
Over 10 thousand in Portland Maine alone.
This march was many things to many people.
People from all ages came.The signs were clever and smart. Some were funny and some got right to the heart of the matter. My friend's mom carried one that said " I can't believe I still need to protest this shit".
I have had people asked me why I marched. What did I expect to accomplish and what did this prove? As a white women in Maine what was my problem? I was even advised that if I was better educated I would realize just how wonderful this new administration was going to be for this country.
Well I can only say one thing.
Seriously?

I have become an activist. I will not be quiet while I watch my friends suffer. I will not shut up and sit down. And the next person who tells me to calm down is going to get kicked. Don't ever say that to anyone. It's demeaning and makes you sound like an idiot.

I was in good company on Saturday and while I do not agree with everything said I will defend the right to say it. Well except Madonna went juuuuuuuust a bit too far for me and I just can't defend treason.

The focus was to energize and empower.

And yes I wore a pink hat. It was a beret.......no ears!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.