Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

One Swallow...

The last day of my summer break has been a rainy bank holiday Monday, although that didn't put me off heading up to the top end of the moor for an hour or so.

When the rain grew heavier, I sheltered under some trees on the boundary wall. This happened to be where a small flight of swallows were hoovering up local insect population, so I thought I'd make the most of my wait by trying to line up a photo.

You'll see from the image, that rather than follow the swallows, I selected a frame and waited for swallows to fly across it. Bear in mind that it was tipping it down at the time.

I realise most will view this as technically horrendous, but I quite like the sense of movement and the bird is still distinctively a swallow. And you should see the out takes.

swallows
fade
into the grey
the last days
of summer


In one of those occasional pieces of symmetry, I once blipped a picture of the trees I was sheltering in, as the blurred background to a crow in flight. There must be something about this part of the moor which blurs my senses.

Back to work tomorrow, so more city blipping on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.