The second half of life..

By twigs

Resurgence

Resurgence
noun

an increase or revival after a period of little activity, popularity, or occurrence.
"a resurgence of interest in religion"
synonyms:
renewal, revival, recovery, rally, upturn, comeback, reinvigoration, reawakening, resurrection, reappearance, re-emergence, rejuvenation, regeneration, new birth, rebirth, renaissance, new dawn, new beginning

Today marks the one year anniversary of mum's passing.  It's been a very tough year - one that has taken it's toll on me, my energy, my desire, my heart.  I ride in and out of acceptance and upset, still with so many questions that can and will never be answered.  I know it's time for me to move on.  Not to forget, but to let go...to accept, to let mum's memory rest peacefully in a cosy corner of my heart..  Pooh has it - 
“If there ever comes a day when we can't be together, keep me in your heart. I'll stay there forever.”

My resurgence.


I had decided I would head over to Golden Bay for the day.  At the foot of the Takaka Hill the sign to the Riwaka Resurgence reminded me I had never been there.  I turned along the road and after about 10 minutes arrived at the beautiful, peaceful, open and rather busy carpark.  To be expected on a beautiful, summer's day that's a public holiday I guess.  An easy 10 minute walk along the path brought me to the resurgence itself.  Stunning, crystal clear water, deep pools of aquamarine water and a few hearty souls cooling off in them.

Had a bite to eat then headed away - or rather, I attempted to head away but the van struggled to start.  Warning signs after yesterdays happenings, I wondered?  It started, I drove back to the main road then headed up Takaka Hill.  The van began to lose and regain power........got to a stage where I figured I shouldn't go any further, pulled off the road and as I did so, it stopped completely.  Figuring maybe it was struggling with the heat I took the opportunity to just relax for a while.  Fortunately, it did restart about half an hour later and didn't miss a beat all the way back home.  I'm going to have to get it looked at pretty quickly as I'm heading to Golden Bay for the weekend next weekend and certainly want it to be reliable then.

A lovely evening dinner al fresco, windows and doors open.  A lovely way to round off a day I hadn't wanted to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.