Let There Be Light

By solli

Pearl Crescent

Phyciodes tharos (Drury, 1773)

Thank you for your hearts, stars and comments on yesterday's pondhawk eating her fly in What's For Lunch. It wasn't a pretty picture and I had a bit of trouble even blipping it, so thank you so much for your appreciation of it! xo

We are expected to have seven days of hot and sunny weather so I took a trip back to Lenape floodplain to see what was happening in the fields. All but one of the water holes have dried up and most of the dragons have departed but I did notice another female pondhawk, a few whitetails, and the male and female twelve spotted.

The butterflies are dwindling however, so when I saw the tiny Pearl Crescent I had to capture it. It may be a female as the antennae knob is a golden color, unlike the males which is usually black. Since summer is ending, I will be blipping the last of the Lenape butterflies whatever species they may be.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Wednesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.