Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bit of a ...

... guitar. On a bit of an odd day.

For a start it was misty, then cloudy and cool, then cloudy and stuffy, then briefly sunny, and now cloudy again*. I'm emphasising the 'c' word here as we've not seen them much for a while. Anyway, my plans of spending the whole day out in the cooler weather (a mere 28 or so today - but not feeling it in the absence of the hot burning globe in the sky) sorting the garden out were dashed firstly by the presence of a million bugs all determined to eat me, and secondly (when I came in to get bug spray and laugh an evil super-villain laugh at the bugs) by some unexpected work.

Never one to turn down work (well, not now anyway) I got stuck in and soon found my head exploding. It was just proofreading and a bit of editing, but of such an esoteric academic article that I actually had to concentrate in a way I've not done since jurisprudence in 1991. Very tiring. And also sadly very interesting. I may find myself idling away a few hours tomorrow reading about Soviet architecture. Unless of course more mind-altering work wanders into my in-box.

The kids were their usual super selves and took care of their own entertainment. I think they've come to recognise the crazed expression that means "leave mammy alone, she's trying to make her brain work". I vaguely remember promising a fishing expedition "soon". Hmmm.

Now it must be time for Gardeners' World. And reeeee-lax.

*And now raining - which is ideal as I forgot to water the plants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.