Plus ça change...

By SooB

Moonwink

I've not been out taking photos at night for ages, so tonight's 'moonwink' was just the push I needed to get out there with the tripod. I'd forgotten how much fun it is to produce a 'looks like day, but with stars' shot when you can't even see your camera, let alone the view you've pointed it at.

But, the reason for going out there was to acknowledge, with a wink, the achievements of Neil Armstrong. Imagine walking on the moon. And then to come out with those first words. What would you have said? "Blinking heck it's big". "Ooh, it's a lot colder than I imagined". "*&%£". "Weehee".

Aside from mooning about, today there was shopping (finally getting all the covers - in all the right sizes and colours, pens, paper, pencils, rubbers that are on the list of required equipment for the kids going back to school). At some point over this weekend I will have to deal with all the labelling, packing and last minute panics over missing items. Later there was some work (an unexpected and rather long piece of work that will steal my weekend, and it's about dentistry - so perhaps I should use it to pay for my broken tooth...)

Later still, we rushed down some dinner (kids) and a snack (me) and headed off into the evening sun to pick up Mr B. And he's agreed to take the kids to the fair (hurrah).

EDIT: So where was I when the first moonwalk happened? Well, I was born the following April. About 9 months later. Hmmm. Let's move along now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.