Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Domoticz

I started a little project today. With an old Raspberry Pi computer I had laying around I created a domotics server based on the Domiticz program. Everything running on the Pi is free or open source.

What the server does, is that it collects data from several sources. At the moment it is limited to getting data from my central heating installation, but I have also ordered a cable that will allow the computer to connect to my smart (electricity and gas) meter. When this is hooked up, I have a very detailed view of my power and gas consumption. Domoticz can do a lot more, like logging and controlling lights in the house, logging the output of solar panels and logging phone calls. I'm not that interested in those features but it's amazing to see what can all be done.

This image is showing the graph of the outside temperature, as reported by my central heater.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.