Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Fund raising

I had to drop Mrs TT off early at the dentist before doing my shift at the Bridge cafe.  I took the time to walk into Boston and visit the 'Stump,' one of the tallest and largest parish churches in the country.  They have a novel fund raising idea that has been going since Christmas, to build a subscription lego replica at £1 a brick.  The walls are currently about three inches high but, when completed, the tower will rise to two metres. I also spotted a matchstick replica built in 1963 (see extra).  The local man broke his leg and was told he would be off work for nine months.  He set about this project to keep himself busy and 37,000 matches and six months later, the model was complete.
I later went to the same dentist having decided that, after last week's experience, I would no longer go to my NHS dentist.  He found a couple of small holes and chipped fillings that the previous dentist had missed.  He has sent me for a full jaw Xray at the hospital and treatment begins next week.  It will cost but he gave me a lot more confidence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.