Happy New Lap of the Sun...

Notes on the turning of the year...

Well the earth has managed to make it round the sun again and I still am no closer to understanding the point of overly celebrating the throwing out of one and hanging of another calendar. That said, the feat of circling the sun is pretty cool.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not poo pooing the whole Hogmanay festivities as I really enjoy the whole family get togetherness of events but I have this funny dread of the period around 2345 and 0015 with all the buildup anticipation. I actually missed the passing of midnight due to extreme over-tiredness and taking Bethany to bed but my favourite part of the night up until that point was a simple wee sharing of a drink from my hip flask with our host. Not many words were passed but a nice wee cheers and appreciation of the spirit.

The whole couple of days were fantastic fun and completely due to our hosts who run the scouting lodge in the hills behind Paisley that was our setting. There was an indoor bouncy castle (I wonder what it is that makes the majority of post-teenager persons not want to get stuck into a bouncy castle if allowed. I thought it was great.), sumo suits, giant Jenga and space hoppers to keep people amused. In the morning when most of the non-family invitees had been breakfasted and headed off, we took the kids for a wee juant around the grounds with a wee animal/tree spotting competition interspersed with assault course and frisbee golf action and all tied up with a brilliant family lunch/dinner in the very ample mess hall.

All in all, a wonderful couple of days fun.
----------------------------

Notes on a picture...

This is Ewan taking a wee lunchtime nap where someone managed to get him into a sleeping bag. He looked so peaceful and probably needed it after the late previous night. I actually tried some BethaBlip bouncy castle pictures but decided to relegate the BethaBlip to the 2nd as there is always a high possibility of an alternate photo on this day of the year and it will keep it in line with last years Bethablip thumbnail which also happened on the 2nd. I also got a really good photo of one of the other children in the bouncy castle that I was pretty chuffed with but wouldn't have felt comfortable posting it without permission from either the subject and his parents.
-----------------------------

Notes on Resolutions and Resolves...

I set myself 2 resolutions last year both of which I can gladly say I've all but managed. One was to clear and tidy our louvre door cupboard which was done at one point. It's not in crystal clear tidiness now but it was done and is certainly managable. The other was to climb the 4 flights of stairs in my office every day I was working. I didn't do this on the day Ewan was born but would have had I not left work before lunchtime. I count that as a pass.

This year, I have decided to learn to play the harmonica. My brother gave me a 'harp' for my birthday and a 'Dummies...' harp book for my christmas and coupled with the fact that my dad seems to be learning the same thing makes it all the better. I considered learning the Uke due to some of the Blipfoto chat regarding the mini guitar thing but I'll add that as a supplementary if I get round to it.

Hobbes of 'Calvin and Hobbes' was once asked if he could wish for anything, what would it be? He wished for Tuna sandwich which of course came true. I feel the same about resolutions.
------------------------------

Notes on the Blipfoto changes...

I purposely, more or less, didn't contribute to the dialog regarding the whole Founding Member/subscription chat that's been going on but I can state here that I am fully behind BlipCentral with their decisions. I am more than happy to contribute to my wee corner of the internet. I don't have any other highly subscribed internet past times and find that more than 50% of my internet time can usually be found in or around Blipfoto. From my dealing with BlipCentral I am more than happy that this is more a survival exercise than a money making one and we could speculate on and on regarding how it may change the Blip landscape but we won't really know how it will pan out until we get there.

That said, although I am more than willing to contribute, I have to admit that I was given my membership as a christmas present from Mum and Dad TFP so this is also a thanks to them for this effective sponsoring of my journal. Thank you.
-------------------------------

Notes for those that managed to read this far...

Well done, you've managed to get to the end of what is possibly my longest posting ever. Almost 800 words.


Happy New Lap of the Sun everyone and all those non-blippers that check my daily blether, you know who you are and you are the reason I never tire of this. Thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.