Right

I sometimes go into Fopp if I'm wandering that far along Rose Street just to see what I've not seen but even if I see something that I want to buy I don't buy it from them. I'll usually buy it at home, from iTunes, not out of any loyalty to Apple but just because I only really want the music, not the plastic.

But then after being in Glasgow on Monday, I found myself on Avalanche's site reading about an old friend's band. I decided it's the wrong way to buy music. Good independent music exists, at least in part, because there are little shops to sell the music and little venues to let them find an audience. So I wandered along to Avalanche to buy some music. It wasn't looking very healthy. I fear it might be too late.

At least I managed to resist the lure of Red Dog Music and the Moog Minitaur in the window. Drool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.