andypowe11

By andypowe11

My other half

It's a funny thing... but when you've known someone a long time it's hard to see them as others do because you have so many memories wrapped up together. Sara and I have been together for well over 25 years. That's a long time and I am very lucky. We've lived together for longer than we haven't lived together if you see what I mean. I don't know why I'm telling you this other than to note that I probably see this blip differently to anyone else!

Because we aren't married, we don't have a good word to describe our relationship. When people refer to Sara as my 'wife' I tend to correct them. I'm not sure why... probably because I like the fact that we decided not to get married and have stuck to it over the years. But it means we end up using words like 'partner', which I hate, or 'other half', which I quite like but which seems a bit flippant for many situations. Actually, 'other half' is a very good description of how we are together.

Anyway... there's a spot by our back door which traps the low winter sun and makes a very nice spot for photos like this one. I think this one catches Sara very nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.