Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Shelob on my greenhouse

I found this whopping spider under the eaves of my greenhouse this evening. It was preparing to discard the sucked-dry carcass of a tipulid crane-fly. The spider's abdomen was about the size of a raisin. From other photos, I could see palps that identified the spider as female, so I wonder if she is full of eggs. I went out later to take a better look with a torch when she had descended further out onto her web, and I think she might be an Araneus spider, maybe A. diadematus, the cross spider or diadem spider. I blipped about this species before, when I was in London for the Olympics. I appreciate that maybe this image isn't a good one for arachnaphobes, but I love the intricate mechanics of the spider body! If you don't understand my reference to Shelob, read Lord of the Rings or see the films!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.