Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Flyer

As more and more blooms pop open on our cherry tree, more and more bees show up.  This makes for a very happy photographer and a very unhappy (but tolerant) Hubs as he doesn't much like bees.  This is a Metallic Sweat Bee (Agapostemon) a very tiny halictid bee that I don't usually see until later in the spring/summer.  Not my finest shot, but it was the only one I saw and therefore deserving of the today's moment.  It always takes me a little time to get my "macro hands" back each spring - I was unhappy with most of today's shots and frustrated with myself for not being steadier.  But I'll have plenty of time to improve.


Meanwhile, I got a decent shot of one of the big, fuzzy queen Bumble Bees with the 300 lens w/1.4 TC.  You can see her big fuzzy bum HERE


In unhappier news, I fear that the bluebirds may have been spooked by the house sparrows.  I only saw the male a few times briefly today and he wasn't singing, just hunting.  I emptied house-sparrow nesting materials from two boxes after seeing the male sparrow furtively leaving one of the boxes.  Oh, how I wish they'd never been introduced to the US.  


I spent a few hours with MIL this morning.  We had her on the list for a wash, cut and blow dry today so I wanted to make sure she actually got it done.  We hung out in the lobby, visiting with each other, as well as various nurses, aides and residents who happened by.  And, when all was said and done, she had a very cute new hair cut!  


Tomorrow we are expecting showers and then partly cloudy skies - hoping for some good photo conditions.  Much prefer shooting under overcast skies, especially when it comes to insects.  


Big thanks to Trisharooni for hosing TinyTuesday.  This isn't quite food... but it is a bee in search of food.  Yea, I know, it's a stretch.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.