Black-crowned night heron

First sortie in the sea kayaks from the Vieux Rhone today. It was so calm and peaceful, I took the long lens with me. Am I glad I did! I have only ever seen one of these small herons before, 3 years ago. However most of my shots were rubbish: bobbing about in an unstable sea kayak, using both hands to steady the camera (it is waterproof, thank goodness) getting a good shot is all a matter of luck. I also dropped the paddle into the water twice but managed to grab it which was just as well, David was well out of shouting distance. Water sports seem a good option while my toe heals...

Thanks for the toe sympathy, it is not quite so sore today. Also thanks for putting Mr. Chamois on the first Popular page, very happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.