Action sports on Maui

This is the kind of action I enjoy. Others come for the snorkeling, scuba diving, zipline, extreme hiking, parasailing, boating, shopping, and of course surfing. I think this crowd has the right idea. First shot of the day.

After this we had breakfast, went to the very beautiful Iao Needle, and had lunch in Lahaina at Aloha Mixed Plate, which is shockingly inexpensive (I had delicious grilled fish, rice, and a side of poi for $5.95). Then off to "Baby Beach," so named because it's safe for babies. Bella went wild in the water for hours.

I had brought both my 2-year-old pocket Lumix camera and my Nikon, and yesterday the Lumix died. I fear it got a grain of sand when I was shooting Bella sleeping in that gorgeous cove. So I was cautious about taking the Nikon where it might get sandy; therefore you'll see no shots of Baby Beach. However for those who are gluttons for family holiday photos, I've added six more shots to the Hawaii set on Flickr.

I am divinely happy. This is perfect. I still can't believe I'm here, and maybe we can get tickets to the international hula contest being held tomorrow.

P.S. Oh my goodness! This was my 365. I had no idea till I posted it and got the notification. It has taken me two years and four months to get to 365--partly because I am perfectly at ease with gaps, and partly because I often go back and delete shots when I decide they were boring. On several occasions I've considered doing something special for the 365th, but today, on an unexpected vacation in Maui, I wasn't paying attention to my posting count at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.