From the Old Newspapers box

The tidying up and sorting out process brings interesting things to the surface as well as dried up paint tins, old rolls of wallpaper and offcuts of carpet. Here are a few old newspapers, dating back more than twenty years. A preponderance of political ones in this selection, documenting the creation of the Scottish Parliament. The false dawn in 1992 when Kinnock lost when he was supposed to win, the Blair landslide in 1997, the Yes-Yes vote later that year (I remember being at the EICC for the result), the first Scottish parliament election, the opening of the Parliament. And a couple of others - the demise of Thatcher and of the Berlin Wall. I remember where I was when I heard both bits of news. I was on holiday in Mexico with M in 1989, staying with our friend D in Monterrey and then travelling a bit to see some more of the country. We were having breakfast in the old town of Guanajuato when we saw a paper with the news from Berlin about the end of the Wall. And I was working at S&N in the computer department when the news went round the office about Thatcher's departure. I remember others were surprised I wasn't more happy with the news, given my political views. I told them I was disappointed that there would never be a chance to defeat her in an election and worse still, worried that the Tory establishment had been very shrewd in ridding themselves of an electoral liability that could mean they might still win the next election (sadly proved true - see above - Kinnock).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.