Back to the venue

After Thursday's rehearsal today I was back at the Signet Library for a stint as 'second shooter' for my good friend A. She is a talented and creative wedding photographer. I think her empathy and compassion coupled with her boundless energy and enthusiasm help her to get the most out of every couple's special day. Despite the fact that today was actually her third wedding in three days she still managed to portray the clear impression that today was a special day for her, just as it was for the happy couple and all their guests. I felt it was something of a masterclass in the role of wedding photographer - keeping so many plates spinning at once, but doing it all with a smile on your face and always taking care to thank everyone for their help in making things happen. We had a little chat while the wedding guests were having their meal - time for the busy wedding photographer to take a break. A was most encouraging, saying I should consider giving wedding photography a go. And I must admit, seeing her work did give me some pause for thought. There wasn't too much of the formal posed shots that have always put me off doing weddings. Instead, the key to the wedding photographer's role seemed to be the personal relationships with the couple and the other guests. And there were lots and lots of opportunities for candid portraits, which is what I love taking most of all. Perhaps I should give it some serious thought.
Earlier L and I were at the regular Socrates Cafe meeting. We discussed why people try to save stranded whales and whether CCTV's alleged security benefits are worth the loss of privacy it entails. A couple of interesting discussions.

This picture is the newly married couple making their way out of the Signet Library.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.