Homegrown

Today's the day ................................. to pick your own

My Dad was a great grower of tomatoes.

In fact his greenhouse was always full of plants of one sort or another - like geranium cuttings ready for planting out in the summer. As he grew less able to cope with such things, his greenhouse had to be abandonned and the only things growing in there were the ferns that pushed up through the floor. The final straw came earlier this year when there was a night of fierce stormy weather and a lot of the glass panes were broken.

But my Mum got someone to come and put new glass panes in to replace the broken ones - and my brother planted a tomato plant in a growbag for her. And this tomato plant is the healthiest thing you've ever seen. It has produced lots and lots of tomatoes - and she is now picking them and eating them. I had one with my meal tonight and it was deliciously sweet.

It would have really pleased my Dad to know that his greenhouse was back in production again ......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.