Paladian

By Paladian

Sundew

Today is one of those magic days. First of all, I got up at 6.30 - the sun is shining, birds are going ballistic, and all is well with the world. I propitiated the Household Gods by cleaning out the fridge (it had to be done, unspeakable things were happening in there).

Anyhow that was all finished by 8.30, and I had to decide what to do. A delicious dilemma, and I half thought of driving down to the coast, but my favourite part is a good hours drive away, and why waste time in the car when you can be outside.

So, I decided on an EXPEDITION. A real one, wearing boots. I packed the camera bag - all the lenses, it weighed a ton. (Note to other half - Dearest, we really must buy a photographer's backpack, a proper one). Packed some snacks, filled a bottle of water, donned the boots, and drove a mile or so away to the Belair National Park. Yes, I know I was there yesterday, but this was to a different bit.

And I had the best time. The blipingist best time. Just 6 steps in and I found my first orchid. 12 steps in and another species of orchid. So much to see, so much to blip. Then there were the kookaburras, and I even managed to photograph a Grey Currawong (these are quite common too, but nice birds).

At the back of my mind, there was something special that I really wanted to get, and I was so excited when I found this little sundew (Drosera auriculata). These are native to Australia, and there are many of them, and I expect this one is really really common, but to me it's so wonderful.

I'll go back to the Park as often as I can and see if I can get more birds, but today is the sundew's day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.