MAGICAL LIGHT

between the trees I see when I walk in Ockenburgh and I try to catch it.
Why do I think there is magic in this light. We see it when the soft mist tarries between the trees and the sunlight becomes starker.
Walking around I think of a website I sometime ago came upon. The name of it is: Natuurwezens. And what translation will fit? Creatures of nature?
Back in the sixties of last century Eric André de la Porte studied in Leiden law (Piet Hein knew him at that time better than I did) and became several years later professor in Enschede in this subject. When he was 50 he left the university to live a more spiritual life. He gave colour therapy, practised zen meditation, gave regression therapy based on the work of Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and wanted persons to be aware more of their divine descent.
With his wife Nienke (Riemersma) and two other women he explores now the world of the gnomes, elfs and many creatures of nature. They exist even when we can not see them, they are banned to the fairy world is their opinion or belief.
Gnomes are very helpful and whisper people new conscience in their ears, is their own experience. There is a lot more to read in their site and they give meetings too. One accidentely in The Hague, when we would still be here perhaps I would attend one. Curious person me, yes?
Since my childhood I have the book: Kabouter Liebreng written by Janne van Beveland. It is about a gnome that in assignment of the king of gnomes must go and visit Hanneke, a girl that abuses butterflies and catterpillars and has many a bad temper. First Liebreng will be invisible and will whisper good advice in Hanneke's ears, he also has pills for better temper and helpfulness. She really needs them. Later he can show himself and be her friend.
The book is illustrated by photographes, the gnome (kabouter) is a puppet and Hanneke a real girl and by drawings of Piet Marée. Drawings in red, black and white. Hanneke in the end after visiting the hospital where all the damaged creatures are gathered changes her life drastically.

My haiku:

Light from the heavens
Without the trees would die
Let's call it magic

And the proverb (no proverb found on magic!):

Pilgrims seldom come home saints.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.