... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Lambrettas

More, um, classic (?) in large; better reflections too...

I set off early this morning to check in on the poor tangled-up gosling (see yesterday); to see whether it had been freed from the fishing line that was caught around both of its legs.
Good news: it has indeed been freed! Yay!
It was still limping a bit, and had sore marks on its legs where the line had rubbed, but the marks were fairly superficial and it didn't seem distressed. It was such a relief when I arrived to see all 9 of them looking normal; some were lying down, and I could see that all of the standing ones were OK, but then the resting goslings got up and I could see that none had fishing line around their legs. It was only when the last one got up that I could see its limp, and the marks above its feet.

I phoned the RSPCA yesterday, but another, um, "waterfowl enthusiast" (gawd...) was talking at the neighbouring pond, and it sounds as though it might not have been the RSPCA that helped the gosling. In any case, it is now free; a happy ending to this particular incident.

I snapped this picture first thing: these two Lambrettas were parked around the corner from where I live, and were looking splendid in the contrasty morning light. They are both absolutely immaculate; well loved and well cared for... I now rather wish I'd taken a set of photographs so that I could have made an HDR image, but I was en route to check in on the gosling(s), and really just wanted a snapshot as the gosling was my number one priority.

I've uploaded a picture of a young Egyptian goose to Blipfolio: it is about 5 months old. The injured gosling (above) is the parents' second brood of the year, and the goose on Blipfolio is from their first brood! They're still dainty-looking and smaller than mature adults, but it is amazing how quickly they grow and mature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.