BBC4: Hydora Lane

Time for the latest Blackheath Blippers' Challenge, this time chosen by doli. Now Hydora Lane is not one of Blackheath's top tourist locations. In fact it's a place that we'd rather not have visitors see at all. It is the service access route for the rear of shops, restaurants and other businesses along the Govetts Leap Road/Great Western Highway CBD strip. It features garbage bins and skips, graffiti, general debris and neglect. Sounds very promising - I am sure you'd agree.

In posting the image above I have to disclose that I DID move a metre or so from the roadway surface although I could have got a less useful angle of this (ahem) "gorgeous artwork" if I'd stayed upon it. I also would not have been able to show the lane itself. Anyway there it is.

In a bit of a cheat I did shoot two other images from Hydora Lane which I thought were of interest. THIS one shows the back of the Gardners Inn. Sections of the original 1831 building still form part of the complex. The "totem poles" close to camera are actually posts used for last year's Rhodo Festival woodchopping competition.

THIS image shows the back of one of the premises adjoining Hydora Lane. The business owner has even suggested that some of this structure formed part of a Cobb & Co. (i.e. stagecoach) relay station.

Cymbeline's Blip
doli's Blip
Trisharooni's Blip
Gemax Photographic's Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.