Saturday in the City

Beautiful day today.  I left the wee ones at home to go for a haircut and then I took the long walk home - as in completely across the city and back. haha.

Lots of pictures, not many standouts. Warm enough to walk around without a jacket, but still the Italian fashion sense wins out - and lots of jackets to be seen.  I looked at a lot of people and thought to myself, "They mush be sweating like crazy!"  On the other hand, seems that the fashion for this summer is passing from stripes to open mid-riffs.  I can't say that I mind much.  Could be a fun photographic challenge to see who gets the best belly button?  haha, maybe not.

As a sidenote of interest. I went to a new barber today. He has been in business since 1968... so tradition is dripping when you walk in the door.  He dry cuts his clients hair before washing it and then going over the last detail work. The interesting point which was a fun discussion.  REAL barbers do NOT use the sink behind the client, but the opposite, You must bend forward over the sink. Does anybody else's barber work in this way?  Another fun fact, he has three girls working for him (non of them that I would call pretty necessarily), but the fun thing was this: when the client is preparing to leave, he will announce "Service!" and all three girls will reply to the customer, "Thank you!" One regular client anticipated the barber to command his "Service!" making a little fun.  I don't think I will be back even if convenient to home.  The "Service" and tradition added about 10 big ones to the bill to what I am usually willing to pay.  Anyway, fun morning at the barber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.