sp33dway

By sp33dway

I AM RUNNER :)

took part in the Hoylake 10k today, my first ever race since taking up running in June. I won't lie, i found it very hard going in the hot coast air and had to, frustratingly, stop a couple of times for restbite, my breathing not settling down one iota (which really annoyed me as i've done 10k and longer in training runs without stopping). I also decided not to wear the FiveFingers as i'm still breaking my feet into them, and partially regreted it as my normal runners feel like para boots in comparison.

Strava tells me i set a new PB in 1hr 5 minutes-odd but i'll have to wait till wednesday for the official word*. in the meantime a huge thanks to my father-in-law and now regular blipper for taking my shot for me by proxy today of me approaching the finish with my bestbuddyboyo (who kindly gave up a chance of bettering his best in favour of running by my side as an egging-onner), and ta muchly to my mother-in-law for making us the most excellent post-run picnic.

* official time was 1hr 5 mins 14 seconds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.