People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Moles look over

I have an entire galaxy of moles on my body. All shapes, sizes, flatness degrees. As a family member survived a malignant melanoma (family by marriage not blood, so no shared genes, but still), an annual skin check is a no-brainer for me.

My dermatologist is a beautiful woman with radiant skin and plenty of freckles. She is warm and kind and funny and has an outstanding bedside manner. I enjoy interacting with her. She told me she almost didn't make it through med school, as her 6 week ob-gyn rotation almost did her in. She did the rotation in a charity hospital in Jackson, MS, where she saw very high numbers of pregnant women who didn't give a damn. They drank, smoked, and did drugs. Some were vastly obese. Many were in their early teens. I am glad she stuck with it; I can't blame her for staying away from obstetrics and gynecology.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.