gennepher

By gennepher

Up early...

...listening to birds. A bit cool. But when sun finally shone in garden at 7:30 it was bliss...

For only 2 seconds because the grandchildren next door came out in garden to play. I cannot see them. They live with grandparents and mum all in same bungalow.

Top pic. With this new mapping, the 7 year old boy's voice is quite full of substance, and deep...but deep isn't quite the right word. He obviously has a football kicking it against the metal garage door which is a hell of a racket. And the ball comes over on my pathway. But on this pencil drawing it is just his voice which I am trying to capture. Yes I tossed his ball back...

So, he was very vocal before each kick, and that is what I have recorded with the pencil lines and shading.

Bottom pic. His 5 year old little sister has a thinner voice. And this is what her voice is like on the pencil drawing. My guess is she is trying to get the ball off her brother, or pleading with him to share. There is only one football in use which is obviously being used by the boy.

I cannot make out the actual words used by the children. And this is the first time I am making some assumptions based on something I cannot see that I am hearing with this new mapping.

I am assuming from her voice sound and patterns she is trying to get the ball off her brother. And he is being very dominant in his voice sounds as he is bouncing and kicking the ball.

So, instead of bird sounds you get this.

So this is my pic for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

I took my processor off at this point. I was not listening to any more of this.

I sat on my garden swing another hour in silence. Well not silence. When I take the processor off, my head is silent...completely silent for all of one or two seconds...then the tinnitus starts. First one side then the other and then all over my head. So whenever I take the processor off I hear the brief sound of silence...so beautiful...


[This is my artist's perception of sounds as they are now after being drastically changed after the remapping of my cochlear processor. I am readjusting to the different sounds, which are actually vastly different, as it is now suggested I was never mapped properly in the first place which is why I have struggled the last few years.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.