A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Sizzle in Brizzle!

Spent a lot of today in stations or on trains. That was OK as they were air conditioned.

Arriving in Bristol mid afternoon I got the bus to College Green just out of the city centre and I nearly melted. No air at all on the bus. Everyone was lapping up the sun here on this green outside the Cathedral at the bottom of Park Street.

Walked up to meet Grace at Turtle Bay for an early tea. I was half an hour early so ordered a drink. Cocktails were two for one so it seemed rude not to and as this is a Caribbean bar and restaurant I went for a Marley Mojito - with ginger beer and watermelon!
Cooled me down wonderfully.

After eating I attended two rehearsals for Grace's Secret Caberet evening which is what I came down for. The second one was in the Piano Bar at the Bristol Hippodrome where the full performance took place at 9.45pm. The extra was taken on my iPhone at the rehearsal as I didn't want to take them during the performance. Quite grainy as it was pretty dark.
The whole show was fantastic. Songs from musicals and musical films. 6 amazingly talented young people (one guy only 18) and excellent musicians too.

The Caberets are monthly and tickets raise money for local charities, tonight the charity was BUST for breast cancer support at Southmead hospital.

It didn't finish till midnight and I'm now pooped but well worth the trip. Think I'll sleep if the heat doesn't keep me awake. Happy (UK Bank Holiday) weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.