Cricket Camouflage

LARGER.

At luncthime today I almost gave up hope of getting a blip in the grounds in front of County Hall. It was sunny, and there were quite a few insects buzzing about but nothing to speak of on the bushes etc. There was a Red Admiral flitting around (only my second one this year) but that had no intention of settling anywhere. I saw a Large White also airborne and also intending to stay there. There were a couple of beautiful big dragonflies whizzing around but they obviously had the same idea as the butterflies. I resorted to trying yet again to get a good macro of an irridescent green fly on a bramble - then I glanced down, and a short distance below the fly I spotted this Cricket, obviously trying to go incognito - if I'd just been walkng past it would have worked! It was very patient too, as it stayed on the same leaf for several minutes, moving around occasionally, as I took quite a few shots of it. This was my favourite of them ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.