The first day of a Learn to Lead course and we decided to go to Stanage.  Yes it can get crowded, but the weather forecast wasn't brilliant and that must have put a lot of folk off as there was hardly anyone parked up. 

We went over the basics of gear placement and belay building, both of which we'd requested, and we learned a lot - I'll certainly be more fussy with where I put my gear from now on, and I've more ideas and more information about setting up a belay.

I know I've already been leading since last August, but I wanted confirmation that I was doing it in as safe a manner as possible and I also thought it might boost my confidence... and it did, I lead my first Severe - Bishop's Route, a route I seconded two years ago.

When I got back home it was food, then bed, in quick succession.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.