LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

The Best Birthday Cake Ever

My wee girl is 8 today. I remember this evening 8 years ago vividly. Right about now I was at my mum and dads house after having left my wife and my as yet unnamed little girl in the maternity ward (well, I was actually kicked out and would've gladly stayed all night). I remember the embrace from my dad when I walked through the door and the look of pride on his face. We had no idea at the time how long he would have left with us and his new grand-daughter and like everything around that time, I tried to capture and hold on to all these memories as best I could.
Eight years ago tomorrow, I took the best photograph I have ever taken, my dad at the hospital holding Robs for the first time.

When I came home that night, I stuck the telly on, opened a can of beer and promptly crashed out on the living room floor, beer untouched. I woke up in the early hours and both of our cats, Rusty and Floyd lay either side of me. The pair of them have the loyalty you would usually associate with dogs and they absolutely adore Robs and she dotes on them.

Which is why after being asked what she would like her birthday cake to look like this year, she asked for one of 'her boys'. Our hugely talented friend, Melanie has produced an amazing cake and I could barely bring myself to cut it at the party. Took a fair few photos before we had to give in and cut pieces for the party guests!

Like all good birthdays, we are going to make a long weekend of it, so backblips probably of a weekend I have been looking forward to for ages. Hope you have a good one! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.