Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Announcing... Wild Baby Week!

I've decided to give myself a challenge to blip baby animals/insects/wild things for the next seven days.  Admittedly, this won't be terribly difficult since there are baby birds all over the garden now...but I'll try to capture something interesting each day.  


And if anyone would like to join me, just tag your entries WBW followed by the day of the month (example, for me, this is WBW16 since it was taken on the 16 June).  Your babies can be anything found in the wild - lizards, birds, animals, bugs, whatever.  Apologies to everyone in the Southern Hemisphere as I know this isn't baby-season for you.  

Today has been like an explosion of babies in the garden.  Hubs and I were out on the deck having breakfast when I remarked that I hadn't yet seen/heard baby blue jays.  No sooner were the words out of my mouth, when a fledgling blue jay came careening onto the deck, under the gazebo, over our heads, on the window sill, very nearly on Hubs' head, on the gazebo frame and finally out to the tree where it's parents were screaming for it.  I was laughing so hard I was nearly in tears.  Hubs was certain he was about to lose an eye,  and muttering dire words.  

The baby downy woodpeckers are out of the trees now and venturing onto the deck.  Baby cardinals are still in the trees but visible for the first time today.  Baby Chipping Sparrows are out and about as are baby house sparrows and finches.  And I am certain I heard baby titmice today, too.  So, game on!  

Today's photo is a female downy wp adult (top) and a juvenile who isn't hers.  The youngster was hanging under the branch, chipping non-stop while the adult was trying to gather some suet to take to her own kids.  Every so often, she'd scoot around the limb after the youngster - very comical to watch.

Thank you SO MUCH for all the love on my dashing dragon yesterday - you've sent her to the top spot on the Pops page, much to my surprise.  I'm aware that not everyone is as keen on insects as I am, so I'm doubly appreciative of all the positive comments.

Cheers, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.